Jenice Riley Memorial Scholarship

This annual competition for $1,000 scholarships is open to all K-8 educators in public and private Alabama schools. The 2021 scholarship application deadline was August 28, 2021.

Meet our scholarship winners

About the scholarship

The Alabama Humanities Alliance awards the Jenice Riley Memorial Scholarship annually. Created in 2003 in memory of Jenice Riley, the scholarship recognizes educators who share her extraordinary commitment to enhancing the quality of education in Alabama. Jenice was the daughter of former Alabama governor and first lady Bob and Patsy Riley; she had a passion for teaching, and fostered creativity and a desire to learn within her students. She also encouraged parent involvement and promoted better educational programs in her community.

The $1,000 scholarship in Jenice’s name is awarded to K-8 educators in support of history- and civics-related projects in their schools and classrooms. The award aids teachers in attending a conference, purchasing classroom materials, or creating programs that enhance students’ understanding of history and civics. 


Who is eligible?

The scholarship competition is open to current Alabama educators of grades K-8, in public and private Alabama schools. Teachers must be current educators in the K-8 classroom who seek to enhance the classroom experience or expand their professional development in the areas of history and civics (this includes geography and Alabama geography, Alabama history, world history, U.S. history, and civics).


To apply

The application period for 2021 is closed. See our 2021 scholarship recipients below. The next application period will open in Spring 2022. Interested educators will be asked to complete a scholarship form and submit it alongside a cover letter to the Alabama Humanities Alliance. 

Scholarship form

Scholarship winners

2021 Jenice Riley Memorial Scholarship winners:

Alexandria Cunningham,
University Charter School, Sumter County

Lisa A. Hargett, Hayden Elementary School, Blount County

Leslie Lawhorn, Madison County Elementary School, Madison County

Laura Powell, Bluff Park Elementary School, Jefferson County 


For more information about the Jenice Riley Memorial Scholarship, contact Rachel Hartsell at 205.616.4926 or